Search:
NOT LOGGED IN
The Comprehensive Guide to Lost Profits Damages for Experts and Attorneys —
Nancy J. Fannon, Editor


This page is for demo purposes only, and some links aren't turned on. If you are a subscriber please login. To purchase this guide and start your subscription click here.

The Comprehensive Guide to Lost Profits Damages for Experts and Attorneys —
Nancy J. Fannon, Editor




Preview the Table of Contents & Excerpt from The Comprehensive Guide to Lost Profits Damages for Experts and Attorneys —
Nancy J. Fannon, Editor (Feature Enhanced PDF)


This guide was created with a feature enhanced PDF, which will allow you to use extra features such as bookmarking pages and making notes. To download the PDF, click on the cover image or title.


For a list of links to full texts of court case opinions related to goodwill, click on the heading below.

Full Text of Court Case Opinions

  Author's Corner

Nancy J. Fannon ASA, CPA•ABV, MCBA is the Owner of Fannon Valuation Group, a business valuation and litigation support services firm located in Portland, Maine. She is an Accredited Senior Appraiser (ASA) with the American Society of Appraisers, holds the specialty designation of Accredited in Business Valuation (ABV) from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA); and is a Master Certified Business Appraiser (MCBA) with the Institute of Business Appraisers (IBA). Ms. Fannon has over 20 years of professional valuation experience, and has been qualified as an expert witness in state and federal courts. She is a nationally known expert on lost profits damages, pass-through entity valuation, and the transaction databases; and has presented dozens of speeches and authored numerous papers on these and other areas of business valuation.
Click here to see Nancy's speaking schedule | Click here for the table of contents and a list of contributing authors and bios

Feedback? Email - guides@bvresources.com

  Updates

6/10/2009
Contractor May Never Recover Lost Profits for Lost Bonding Capacity

After soliciting bids, the Board of Water Commissioners for the City and County of Denver (the “Board”) awarded a $3.5 million contract to build its new headquarters to Denny Construction Company (“Denny”). The contract called for completion in July 2003. Due to weather delays, the parties extended the deadline to October 2003. After that, the Board refused to grant any additional weather-related extensions. When it took occupancy a month later the facility was still not completed.
Read full abstract article (40kb/DOC) | Read full text of court opinioin (50kb/PDF)

Feedback? Email - guides@bvresources.com




Listen to highlights from:
Lost Profits Damages: Lessons Learned from Motions to Exclude Financial Experts, the March 2009 Teleconference with Nancy Fannon, Jonathan Dunitz, and commentary from Stuart Weiss
(Click to Play - Runtime: 5 min)



Click here to view Nancy Fannon’s May 2007 presentation titled: Lost Profit or Lost Business? This and Other Appraiser Imponderables in Damage Calculations. This presentation provides an overview on how to calculate lost profits and the role of the financial expert in a lost profits damages case.

.
  Lost Profits Damages In The News
Note: News feeds are automated and not screened for accuracy or applicability
8/21/2010
Oil Spill Claim Guidelines Cause Uproar - CBS News
8/26/2010
Spill Damage Claims Absent the Spill - Wall Street Journal
9/1/2010
PARADIGM OIL, INC. v. RETAMCO OPERATING, INC. - Leagle.com
8/27/2010
Nomir Medical, law firm feud over patent lapses - Mass Device
9/2/2010
Beladcom to launch the region's first virtual world - AME Info
8/31/2010
Xoriant agrees Infor partnership - AME Info
9/2/2010
FUNAI ELECTRIC COMPANY, LTD. v. DAEWOO ELECTRONICS CORPORATION AND DAEWOO ... - Leagle.com
9/2/2010
Why two district courts dismissed valid computer fraud and abuse claims for ... - Lexology (registration)
8/31/2010
USA. NMMA update: Gulf Coast Claims Facility - BYM News (press release)
8/31/2010
Bermuda Sun Website Terms of Service - Bermuda Sun
  Lost Profits Damages In The BVWire
8/11/2010
The following articles from the most recent issue of Willamette Management Insights (Summer 2010) are available on WMA’s website: * Measuring Lost Profits Economic Damages on a Pretax Basis (Robert P. Schweihs) * Valuing Derivatives and Share-Based Compensation for Marital Dissolution...
Issue #95-2

6/9/2010
The item in the last BVWire on "the power of the discount rate" prompted numerous subscriber inquiries and requests for the "dirty dozen" cases on determining the discount rate in economic damages cases. Although a few of the opinions are too old (pre-Internet era, circa 2000) to be posted online...
Issue #93-1

5/26/2010
"In my experience, most lawyers don’t understand the power of numbers, and they may ignore the discount rate in preparing for trial," attorney and author Robert Dunn told attendees at last week’s 24th Annual Seminar by the Valuation Roundtable of San Francisco in Oakland, CA. "To a lawyer, 8...
Issue #92-5

12/16/2009
Financial experts can make or break a case for economic damages, lost profits, taxable fair market values, dispositions in divorce, shareholder dissolutions—and more, but many lawyers "inadvertently destroy their experts' credibility," says a recent report by the American Bar Association. The most...
Issue #87-3

12/16/2009
The 2009 update of BVR's Guide to Fair Value in Shareholder Dissent, Oppression and Marital Dissolution is now available. In addition to the print copy, this year’s update includes free online access that includes real time updates such as recently published court opinions and case abstracts, new...
Issue #87-3

11/18/2009
What’s the impact on the purchase price—or more broadly—on overall value, when a target company loses a significant customer just before the deal closes? "It depends on the characteristic of the customer," according to Jeff Litvak and William Kennedy in their presentation, "Pitfalls to Avoid...
Issue #86-4

8/5/2009
An otherwise "supremely qualified expert cannot waltz into the courtroom and render opinions unless those opinions are based on some recognized scientific method and are reliable and relevant under the test set forth by the Supreme Court in Daubert," said the federal district court (S.D. Indiana...
Issue #83-1

8/5/2009
Restaurant valuations have long been the "bread and butter" of many appraisers, offering a smorgasbord of data and opportunities to consider a rich assortment of inputs and assumptions—including whether "rules of thumb" can ever form the basis for a conclusion or are merely "icing on the cake...
Issue #83-1

7/22/2009
The owner of several medical technology companies developed a patented drug to treat sepsis. He assigned all manufacture and marketing rights to another company, which failed to run clinical trials and perform other conditions of the agreement. In a suit for damages, the patent owner was ready to...
Issue #82-3

4/1/2009
A new report, issued by the American College of Trial Lawyers and the Institute for the Advancement of the American Legal System Task Force on Discovery, examines the role of discovery in perceived problems in the civil justice system and makes recommendations for improvement. Among the 29 proposed...
Issue #79-1



  Lost Profits Damages In The Blogs
Note: Blog feeds are automated and not screened for accuracy or applicability
Where Lost Profits Projection and Business Valuation Converge
Plaintiff disclaimed recovery of lost profits damages at trial. The court held, however, that use of a business valuation approach (which the court analyzed in detail) could not remedy deficiencies in proof of value by methodology ...
UK ONLY: Had a car crash. Comprehensive insurance. When can I ...
How long will I have to wait to receive a cheque to buy a replacement car, and money to cover lost earnings? Would this be paid by my own insurance company? The accident was the fault of the other guy. But what if he disputes this? ... If you think it is £500 value the payout will liable to be £400 as insurance companies use a low valuation rating! If you try claiming for whiplash this could slow everything down as Insurance Companies are fed up with the compensation ...
Business Valuation & Litigation Support E-Newsletter: August 2010
A US Court of Appeals affirmed a jury award of nearly $10 million in lost profits. Notably, the plaintiff's damages expert based his calculation on a single price quote by the plaintiff that had never been accepted by the defendant. ...
Patent infringement analysis may be 'plausible' but still ...
It next turned to the appropriate amount of reasonable royalty and lost profits damages. Damages estimate range from $300000 to $7.8 million. In calculating a reasonable royalty for the established infringement, the plaintiff's expert ...
Applying Forensic Skepticism to Lost Profits Valuations
Forensic accountants are frequently engaged to review business interruption (lost profits) damages for insurance claims. Although it isn't always the case, owners of privately held companies may have the opportunity to inflate loss ...



Copyright © 2010 Business Valuation Resources, LLC. All rights reserved.
(888) BUS-VALU, (503) 291-7963   Privacy Policy   Top of Page

Accessed: Friday, 9/3/2010 4:24:28 AM.